Monday, July 25, 2011

The aftermath

Jubilation! None of us can remember what happened in that final minute and a half, it's a blur of players scrambling, fans on their feet, deafening noise, green, gold and black. The jumps of joy and wild hugs of the aussie girls confirm the result, and they end up in a stacks on the mill on the floor. Mel, Vin and I nearly cause our own stacks on the mill with an unhinged celebratory hug/dance.

After I finish hugging the stranger next to me we stand on our seats and pump our fists, wave the #blingiton sign, clap til our hands hurt and scream with what little voice we have left.

Cannot believe we won. Cannot believe it!

It was a whisker away from kiwi victory. Feel very sorry for the Silver Ferns, they are shattered, as dejected and emotional as the Diamonds were after the Commonwealth Games last year. After that game, some parts of the NZ media and even some ex-silver ferns took great joy in commenting on the faces of the aussie girls, one even going so far as to say that the only thing better than the victory was seeing the devastation on Sharelle McMahon's face.

There'll be none of that here. I feel for the kiwis who have put their heart and soul into that game, and for their supporters who will mourn the loss for a long time. We remember the feeling well and it hurts.

It's heart-warming to see both teams shake hands, some even embrace, and they end with the traditional huddle of both teams. Great sports(wo)manship. Aitken and Williams have the awful task of being interviewed by the media afterwards and they are doing really well to hold it together. We're close to the tunnel that the kiwis exit to momentarily before the medal presentation. The aussie crowd gives them a heartfelt ovation.

Nat Medhurst is announced player of the match which surprises many, including Nat, I think. She looks reluctant to accept the medal but eventually does. I would have given it to Corletto, but without Medders' great contribution we wouldn't have won and she's had a brilliant tournament.

The court announcer is attempting to call NVB over for an interview but Nat either can't hear through the crowd's version of 'Land Down Under' or she doesn't want to leave her team's side. After 4 attempts they finally get her over for a quick speech, none of which I can remember except how proud she is of the team. The medal dias is brought in and set up and finally it's time for the medal ceremony. Most of the crowd have remained, credit to the kiwis who probably want to run screaming from the stadium.

England first to the receive the bronze medals. NZ next up, most taking their place on the dias with grace and poise, except one who rolls her eyes and claps sarcastically as her name is called, perhaps frustrated that she didn't get any court time in the final, or perhaps just trying to diffuse the situation.

Finally it's time for the aussies, wild cheers again for the physio. We shout the national anthem for the second time today and soak up the moment. Tears. The court announcer asks the crowd, rather un-PC like, at the end of the anthem "Who won?" "AUSTRALIA!" "Who won?" "AUSTRALIA!"

And finally the world championship trophy. An almighty shower of gold confetti as the team and staff surround NVB. The pop of the confetti scares the bejeezus out of Casey Williams, and understandably the kiwis can't get out of there quick enough.


Queen's 'We are the Champions' reverberates around the stadium as the aussies take their long victory lap with the trophy, thanking each section of the crowd and stopping for endless photos. The team hangs around for ages afterward, signing autographs, having photos with fans, doing interviews, and lapping it all up. We soak it all in until things start to wrap up and it's time to seize a photo opportunity with Shazza.

As we arrive over the other side of the stadium to see her, a lady I was chatting to yesterday comes over and asks if we still have our face masks. She says "this is Sharelle's husband and he wants to have a photo with you guys". We all crack up and get the face masks ready. I assure him "we're not really crazy, we just love her", "well, you'd understand" Vin adds. Laughter all round. He asks how many shirts we had made as he has "seen them everywhere". We pose for photos (both his and our camera) and then we head down to join the line for a photo with Shaz.


We wait patiently for a little while, but then Brek comes down and calls out "Shaz", she starts to head over and he says "the girls who made the tshirts and masks are here". "Oh God" she groans jokingly (well, it appeared to be jokingly!) "Don't be scared" I tell her. She comes over and we have a big hug and I say quietly "Oh Shaz, we wish you were out there." She gives me a great hug and says a heartfelt thankyou. Her voice sounds a little sad. She's putting on a brave face, and being such a team-oriented person there's no doubt she's delighted for the team, but she must be shattered to have missed out.

She quickly peps up and we discuss the photo requirements - a normal one without masks, one with masks, and one with our backs to the camera while she faces it, showing the "Shazza... wish u were here" message on the back. We wait while she goes and grabs her own camera cos she wants a copy too, and when we turn our backs she asks what she should do. "Whatever you like" Vin says, and we see later that she's hammed it up with a sad pose. She's an absolute champion in every way. I just hope we see her in the green and gold again. Love ya Shaz!













No comments:

Post a Comment