Thursday, July 28, 2011

The afterparty

Finally time to leave the stadium, the happy hunting ground. I've been a lazytraveller for most of my time in Singa so far, and I confess to not being a huge lover of public transport. But the stadium train station is pretty cool, see below. I took this photo a couple of days later, so you'll have to imagine the sea of gold that congregated and the strains of a capella 'Waltzing Matilda' echoing while we waited for the train.

We're starving, and we've got a table booked at Jumbo Seafood in Clarke Quay. It was recommended by three different people, and it's full of Singaporeans, a good sign. The girls are keen for the chilli crab, Singaporean speciality, which requires wearing an obligatory idiotic bib (sorry girls).

I've tried to like seafood at various times throughout my life, but you just can't put a square peg in a round hole. The crab tastes OK, but, meh. I'm not converted and never will be. Childhood fishing trips with Dad ruined me. However, the Singapore Slings are sensational, and at $8.50 they're good value compared to other places (could buy 4 here for the price of one at the famous Raffles Hotel).

After dinner and some scouting to find out where the afterparty is, we head back to the hotel to pop the Veuve Cliquot. Hell, we are practically running. Mel does the honours, and a couple of drinks later, a quick change (but leaving on the now lucky #blingiton tshirts and necklaces) and we're off to find the Pump Room bar in Clarke Quay. Turns out to be about 100 metres from our hotel, score!

A couple of the fellow freak forumers are in there already, but we're bounced from the front door as 'there's a private party'. The guy tells us we can come in in half an hour, so we take up position at the outdoor tables at the pub right next door, next to the English team. They're not looking quite so glum about their brown medals now.

RSI soon joins us, and after waiting it out with a drink we move into the Pump Room, joining Lurch, Netball Tragic, rossie, Guz+daughter, and a host of merry aussie supporters.

Players from Northern Ireland, South Africa, Wales, Trinidad and Tobago are there letting down their hair. The cover band is pumping out favourites, they're an eclectic mix and they're fantastic! Crowd going off, dancing, singing, loving every minute. Rossie, RSI, Vin, Mel and I take our turn to have a dance up on the stage/podium to 'It's raining men' sung expertly by the drag queen lead singer. Gold!

Sea breezes, mojitos, vodka cranberries, cocktails are the drink of the night (wine is super expensive here). At about 1.00am the aussie team suddenly appears and the dancefloor goes off even more. The girls take over the podium and it's a danceathon/drinkathon/on-top-of-the-world-athon for the next couple of hours. The family and friends of the girls have been at the Singapore Cricket Club for a private function, apart from some of the aussie swim team who got a gig (TAJ's photo with Skippy a highlight!)

BOD (Best On Dancefloor) would have to go to the big fish, but they all give it a good nudge! Unbridled excitement, outpouring of joy and elation! A well deserved celebration, and they're ecstatic to share it with everyone. A wild dance with Mon leaves Vin with a taste of what Temepara George must feel like the next day!

Those who finished 8th party just as hard! The Northern Ireland girls are a little disappointed to have "gone out on a low". They lost the match against South Africa by 5 which would have put them into the 5th v 6th playoff, and then ultimately lost the 7th v 8th playoff to T&T by 18. But how well have they done to jump up the rankings to 8th. While the top teams are a cut above the rest, it has been so entertaining to see the lower ranked teams play each other, and I'm not the only one congratulating the NI, T&T and Welsh girls.

While the band has a rest, Beyonces' song "Who won the world? Girls!" comes over the speakers. We sing it to the Diamonds, a fitting anthem. I crawl into bed just before 3.30am and Lurch informs me the Pump Room shut up shop at 3.30, and some of the girls were heading over to the casino. Play hard, party hard. Go get 'em girls!

No comments:

Post a Comment